Wanted: A New God That Is Nicer

Writing can be a very rewarding and worthwhile career but it tends to bring out the fears and struggles that sometimes plague a writer. I am currently writing a scene in my novel that I am finding extremely difficult to get through. I am killing off a character – a teenage girl. While the teenager is a minor character, her death will play a major role in the personality of the main character. The struggles have led to major frustrations and procrastination on my part and to the frustration of my significant other.

To be honest, if I had my druthers, I would gloss over or even skip her death but I can’t. I want my readers as sympathetic to my main character as I can achieve. I want and need the reader to grasp the full personality he has, because it plays a major role in the novel.

For the last two weeks, I have been working on this. For four days, I repeated the same part of scene four times but with different words. My girlfriend gave me a swift kick in the ass  (as the saying goes) and told me enough was enough with the procrastination and that somehow motivated me to move on. I refuse to give up. I will find the right words and finish this part of my novel.

It will be at least a year until my beta readers receive their copies of the manuscript. I am not sure if I have the patience to wait that long to see if I have succeeded in this endeavor. I know my girlfriend is and will always be a tough critic. I am hoping that if it passes her reviews then my beta readers and others will also approve.

2 responses to “Wanted: A New God That Is Nicer

  1. Have you considered a tragic horseshoe accident? Or an overdose on energy drinks? A run in with a rabid mongoose? Push through brother, you can do it. Us the force or the dark side what ever is running that soul of yours. All my love your little brother

    Andrew

  2. Andrew’s horseshoe has some interesting possibilities, but I’d avoid the mongoose and rabid creatures in general … Stephen King has pretty well covered that. Could she smother in her sleep … maybe in the long hair her mother has refused to let her cut? That would work if the mother is the tragi-sympathetic major character. Choking on popcorn? That’s a teenage tragedy for you. Afraid I’m not being much help, but I’m confident you’ll figure it out.

    Uncle Fred

Leave a Reply

